Event reviews

Event Review: ClexaCon London

Posted by Planet Nation on 17 November 2018

Clexacon is a fairly new lesbian film and media convention that launched in Vegas in 2016, and has decided to host an event in London. The inaugural Clexacon London took place over 3 and 4 November 2018 in London.

Read more

Indigo Club event review

Posted by Maz Ogden on 12 September 2018

Club Indigo kicked off Brighton Pride's Friday night with the sound of Hannah Brackenbury compering.  Hannah never ceases to entertain.  Both in her performances of 80's and 90's classics like Guns and Roses, Bonjovi and Queen and in the amazing line up, she'd organised.

Read more

Event Review: LA Hook Up Launch

Posted by LGBT Poet Laureate on 25 February 2018

It’s rare to attend an event which has a feel of the start of something special.  Such was the launch of LA-hook launch party.

Read more

Event Review: Pout at the Directors Lounge

Posted by Planet Nation on 18 February 2018

So, this month POUT from Elaine at The Glass Bar moved to a plush new venue. Given that I hadn't had a good old dance in a while, and I wanted to celebrate dropping a few kilos, this was just too good an opportunity to miss.

Read more

Event Review: DIVA After Dark

Posted by Planet Nation on 22 October 2017

The first DIVA After Dark pop up was a huge success, so when the super talented Saski got in touch to say she was hosting the October pop up, I was excited because Saski is a talented host.

Read more

Flux Exhibition by Suzie Pindar, The Naked Artist

Posted by Planet Nation on 12 October 2017

The ever so talented Suzie Pindar, also known as The Naked Artist delights with her first ever solo show.

Read more

Event Review: DIVA After Dark

Posted by Planet Nation on 27 September 2017

It isn’t often that you see an over 25s event taking place in East London so when DIVA After Dark popped up I was at first a little unsure. I don’t see myself as young enough or trendy enough to spend time around Shoreditch and it certainly isn’t an area I will often go, however my friend was running the event so I wanted to support her, and as a new event, I also wanted to check it out for all the Planet Nation readers.

Read more

Review of Read my Lips in Bristol

Posted by L Devo Child on 26 March 2017

What a cracking night!

I went with my exhausted self (I’d been moving house all day) to check out the debut of Read my Lips at the Old Market Assembly, wondering how I’d stay awake long enough to take it all in.

Read more

Proudly celebrating Pride on a gloomy Winter night

Posted by PetitP on 16 March 2017

I am a strong believer that pride is a key element in keeping our community together and to celebrate our pride for being out and proud. Even though this is a daily task, and celebrated worldwide, usually around the anniversary of Stonewall riots at the end of June, why not celebrate it in gloomy winter as well?!

Read more

Lesbians Wot Lunch

Posted by Planet Nation on 27 November 2016

A Stonewall Season fundraiser for lesbians of all descriptions that can't be arsed to put a going out outfit on and go into Soho. Come to a super gay friendly pub, bring your dog/kids/wife, eat lunch and be entertained by a lesbian performer, a quiz and a raffle with some fab prizes.

Read more

My, My, My Delilah!

Posted by Planet Nation on 22 November 2016

Come 8pm everyone was eagerly awaiting the reason for the whole event - Delilah Isabella. All evening Delilah had been in the bar relaxing with friends and enjoying the entertainment in a stunning black and gold dress; but for her performance she was transformed into a new outfit with theatrical make up and wings to match her musical theme.

Read more

Rumour has it that this night is fab!

Posted by Maz Ogden on 22 November 2016

For those of you a little skeptical about the scene; my friends included, it was great to find a complete mix of all ages and gender at Rumour Has It, plus a friendly vibe from the start

Read more

S!NG you heart out with Adam and Apple at SHE

Posted by Planet Nation on 14 November 2016

The night was buzzing and the bar was full of women dancing, singing and generally having a good time. I had a great time catching up with some women I knew, and chatting to lots of women I'd never met. Everyone was really friendly and in a great mood

Read more

Finding inner peace with Kalie

Posted by Planet Nation on 29 October 2016

We increasingly are living busy, hectic and stressful lives. We don't plan it that way but life just seems to throw things at us and it is easy to feel tired, stressed, anxious and overwhelmed. However taking out just one hour a week for relaxation can counter this and help to reset your mind and body to help you cope with the week ahead.

Read more

What an #Outcome

Posted by Planet Nation on 17 October 2016

The 10 October was the culmination of 2 years of photographing people up and down the country for Tom Dingley. What started out as a relatively small project photographing people holding baby photos and reflecting where they have reached, has now become immortalised in a book. On 10 October a number of the people featured in the book went along to Greenwich University for the launch event

Read more

10 years and still a great party at MINT!

Posted by Planet Nation on 15 October 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed this event.

It was in an idyllic venue in London where many gathered sipping summer cocktails on the rooftop of the Century Club on a Sunny evening.

Read more

Southbank Surfing still Smokin'

Posted by Planet Nation on 17 September 2016

Southbank Surfing is one of the oldest events on the calendar in London - and it is still going strong

Read more

Bringing down the house

Posted by Planet Nation on 13 March 2016

Last night I witnessed the birth of a huge shift in the scene. The vibe was electric. The talent was extreme. It felt like a scene out of The L Word... where was this amazing event you ask?

Read more

Lesbian Discussion Group

Posted by Planet Nation on 12 March 2016

The Lesbian Discussion Group first started in September 1980. It has always been hosted at Gay’s The Word Book shop. It is pretty impressive that a weekly event has survived over 35 years. The venue hasn’t closed, the group hasn’t ended. Truly they must be doing something right!

Read more

Lighting up LBQ Life

Posted by Planet Nation on 09 March 2016

Last month I happened to stumble upon Silvia who got in touch about a pub in North London that was looking to start providing a social space for LBQ women. So I arranged to meet Silvia at The Old Crown in Highgate to find out more. Prepare to be excited!

Read more

Pages