Book Reviews and Features

Book Review: A Darker Kind of Love by Angela Peach

Posted by Amy Withnall on 15 September 2017

A Darker Kind of Love is exactly what it says on the tin. Hanna is still living with her crazy ex-girlfriend Mel, but there’s a twist, Mel is a ghost. Hanna meets Sophie and they fall hopelessly head over heels in love. Can Hanna get rid of Mel, persuade her to move on so that her and Sophie can get the happy ending they both want?

Read more

Book Review of Razor's Edge by Isabella

Posted by annemag on 02 June 2017

This is the third book in the American Yakuza series by Isabella. Luce Potter is running her grandfather’s empire and trying to move more into legal operations but life – as usual – gets in the way.

Read more

Book Review of The Girl on the Edge of Summer by J M Redmann (Micky Knight Series)

Posted by annemag on 06 May 2017

The Girl on the Edge of Summer is the ninth book in the Micky Knight series. I have to say up front that I love Micky Knight. I am well aware that she is a fictional character and I don't think she's real (not like the woman I used to work with who knitted baby clothes and sent them whenever a baby was born on Coronation Street). I wouldn't want to be in a relationship with her either - way too stressful. 

Read more

Book Review of Everything Between Us by Harper Bliss

Posted by carriec on 19 April 2017

Everything Between Us is the 3rd book in the Pink Bean Series but can be read as a stand alone book. Josephine is a graduate student who has a fan girl crush on Famous Author Caitlin James.

Read more

Diva Literary Festival launches

Posted by Planet Nation on 07 April 2017

Diva Magazine continues to fly the flag for LBQ women across the UK and improve its offering. The latest new event to be launched is the Diva Literary Festival.

Read more

Book Review of The Playmaker by Lane Swift

Posted by carriec on 21 March 2017

I admit I was reluctant to read the book because I know nothing of rugby. I learned real quick rugby is the common denominator that brought the main characters together, not the main subject line of the story.

Read more

Book Review of Between the Lines by KD Williamson

Posted by annemag on 21 March 2017

This is the third book in K D Williamson's "Cops and Docs" series and having enjoyed the other two, I picked this one up with high hopes. I was not disappointed.

Read more

Book Review of Ishinnie by SJ Campbell

Posted by Amy Withnall on 16 March 2017

The book I always wanted to read and finally someone wrote it. 

A true love story with many twists and turns that kept me gripped throughout the whole book.

Read more

Book Review of The U-Haul Diary by KB Draper

Posted by carriec on 13 March 2017

The U-haul Diary is honestly one of the funniest books I have ever read. K.B. Draper has a wit and quirkiness about her like none other. K.B.'s story telling abilities left me wanting to be her friend by the end of the book. She has to be a hoot in real life to write the way she does. 

Read more

A Quiet Death by Cari Hunter

Posted by annemag on 17 February 2017

This is the third adventure of Sanne and Meg and as soon as I put it down, I wanted to chase Ms Hunter to get book four written. If you haven't read one and two, I suggest (after you read this review) you go to your purchase place of choice and get them. My guess is that if you start with three, you'll only want to get one and two anyway so you might as well start there and read them in order. Trust me, on that!

Read more

Review of Fanny Fun by M Cassol

Posted by Amy Withnall on 17 February 2017

Fanny Fun is exactly what it says on the tin – A big lesbian drama in a small straight world. The book is all about connections and how our decisions, no matter how tiny can have an impact on the world around us and how the connections we make, make us realise just how tiny a world we live in.

Read more

The Nature of Fragments by Katie Bennett-Hall

Posted by annemag on 09 February 2017

Recognising that these are mere snippets – fragments – it is plain to see the mastery of language here. My favourite poem is “What it is like to be a dyke”. A seemingly straightforward list type poem, it says much in a few lines. 

Read more

Nothing to Lose by Clare Lydon

Posted by Amy Withnall on 01 February 2017

The latest book from Clare Lydon is out. Nobody would ever describe Scarlet Williams as a ray of sunshine, but that doesn’t mean she deserves the flood that wipes out her basement flat, making her temporarily homeless.

Read more

Embrace your fluid sexuality with Fanny Fun

Posted by Planet Nation on 30 January 2017

In 1948, the release of Alfred Kinsey’s ‘Sexual Behavior in the Human Male’ introduced the world to the Kinsey Scale, and the now-widely-accepted notion that people are not simply “straight” or “gay”. Sexuality is fluid and, in a compelling new novel by M. Cassol, women everywhere are encouraged to discover and prosper as who they really are.

Fanny Fun’ whisks readers from Sydney to the South of France, as a formidable team of heroines explore their bisexuality and lesbianism in the elusive search for love. 

Read more

Bureau of Holiday Affairs by Andi Marquette

Posted by annemag on 06 December 2016

As we approach the Christmas season, it makes sense to seek out seasonal reading and one good lesfic recommendation from me is The Bureau of Holiday Affairs by Andi Marquette. If you've read anything of Andi's before, you'll know you're in safe hands. This is the same series (Twice Told Tales) as her take on The Legend of Sleepy Hollow, but as you've missed Halloween for that one, check out the Christmas read instead.

Read more

Short Sharp Shocks by Jett Nyx

Posted by annemag on 27 November 2016

The book is in four parts (1) Innocence, (2) Identity, (3) Love and (4) Lust. Lots of clues there about what to expect and the content gets more graphic as the book progresses. There are a few weak pieces, especially poems where Jett Nyx is trying to make words fit a context or shape and some of the emotion is lost but there are some extremely good pieces where the emotion is so strong it is pushing off the page.

Read more

Dirty Little War by CK Martin

Posted by Amy Withnall on 23 November 2016

Evie and Carmen are at opposite ends of the crime world but a meeting in a sleazy bar brings them closer together than either of them ever imagined. For Evie this is a chance to get one over on the rich businesswoman but it soon turns into something much more.

Read more

Karma the Assassin Book Review

Posted by Planet Nation on 12 October 2016

I have a recommendation for you.

Karma The Assassin Book One. It's a book about power.

Read more

"As Told By Us" Murder Mystery Book Review

Posted by Amy Withnall on 04 October 2016

"As Told By Us" is an eclectic mixture of romance and murder. Main Character, Layla Crimson, delves into a new and local LGBT scene where she is met with love, lust, and deceit. Her seemingly split personality leads the reader down a path of falling in love with her, and being unsure of her at the same time. Join Layla as she takes hearts, and experiences heartbreak as suicide rates seem to be on the rise in her small town. Who will be the next to die?

Read more

Simulation: The Dawn of a Superhero by Sam Skyborne

Posted by Amy Withnall on 09 June 2016

If you’re a fan of sci-fi, superheroes, science or lesbian novels then you should go read this book, even if you’re not you should read it. I can’t wait for the next instalment to find out what happens to Sam.

Read more

Pages