All the World's a Stage

Theatre Review: Scene at Camden People's Theatre

Posted by PetitP on 17 April 2018

This play is about how a loving inter-racial couples navigates around having the difficult discussions around race. 

Read more

Theatre Review: The Inheritance at the Young Vic Theatre

Posted by LGBT Poet Laureate on 17 April 2018

There was a palpable feel of tension and excitement in the auditorium of the Young Vic theatre, as we waited for the World Premier of Matthew Lopez's play to commence.  A seven-hour, two-part play about the long lasting legacy of the Aids epidemic is pretty hard-core theatre viewing... by anyone’s standards.

Read more

Theatre review: Hilda and Virginia

Posted by LGBT Poet Laureate on 21 March 2018

“Hilda and Virginia” are two plays about two very different women.  Written with a sure hand, by accomplished playwright and poet Maureen Duffy.

Read more

Theatre Review: Xposed at Southwark Playhouse

Posted by Planet Nation on 18 February 2018

Full Disclosure Theatre curated a second masterpiece called XPOSED, hot on the heels of their debut in November 2017 at the Hen and Chickens Theatre - the second production has quickly evolved and expanded to a performance at Southwark Playhouse, which was a sell out. XPOSED is a new writing night featuring eight short plays by eight emerging writers, revealing the naked and entertaining truths about queer life from new production company, Full Disclosure Theatre.

Read more

Theatre Review: Her Not Him at Theatre 503

Posted by Planet Nation on 31 January 2018

HER NOT HIM is the debut performance from new production company, Lughnacy Productions. Her Not Him is at Theatre503 above The Latchmere in Battersea until 3 February 2018. This is a play you do not want to miss.

I can't quite believe it is still January and there is even more LGBT theatre on in London. 2018 is off with a bang, and just two weeks after seeing Lobster at Theatre 503, I am back for another debut performance, this time Her not Him.

From the description, I was intrigued and looking forward to this performance. I wondered what scenario would lead to Bea being tempted away from Ellie. With so many people identifying more fluidly, it is good to see these stories on the stage.

Read more

Interview with Kayla Feldman director of "Lobster"

Posted by VictoriaB on 21 January 2018

The beauty of Lobster is that it is such a universal story.

This story could belong to anyone, regardless of gender or sexuality.

We spoke to talented director Kayla Feldman about her hit play Lobster.

 

Read more

Theatre Review: Lobster

Posted by Planet Nation on 12 January 2018

Lobster is the debut performance from new production company, Snapper Theatre. Lobster is at Theatre503 above The Latchmere in Battersea until 20 January. This is a play you do not want to miss.

Read more

Theatre Review: XPOSED

Posted by Planet Nation on 25 November 2017

Full Disclosure Theatre curated a masterpiece XPOSED, at the Hen and Chickens Theatre. It’s a new writing night featuring eight short plays by eight emerging writers, revealing the naked and entertaining truths about queer life.

Read more

The Butch Monologues on tour

Posted by Planet Nation on 27 October 2017

Butches, masculine women and gender rebels share their powerful and human collection of secret stories celebrating vulnerability and desire.

Read more

Theatre Review: Purple Snowflakes and Titty Wanks

Posted by Planet Nation on 22 October 2017

Purple Snowflakes and Titty Wanks... I was intrigued just by the title. And as a purple myself (don't like the word lesbian, why not call yourself a purple instead?!) I didn't actually know what a titty wank was until my girlfriend explained it 1 minute before the performance began!

Read more

Theatre Review: Ma, Am I Good in Bed?

Posted by Planet Nation on 22 October 2017

Two sisters from Ireland offer this awesome performance covering sibling rivalry, and how at age 15 everything seemed like the end of the world - but it wasn’t compared to adult life today. Whilst waiting for their Uber they reminisce over past experiences, including past girlfriends.

Read more

Theatre Review: The White Feminist's Guide to Sex and Hip Hop

Posted by Planet Nation on 12 October 2017

I have to be honest, in that I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from this performance.

A one-woman performance from a white woman from Paris, France about Sex and Hip Hop - but I was advised it was absolutely on theme - talking about bisexuality so I cleared my schedule and returned to Theatre N16 for the second night in a row!

Read more

Theatre Review: Inside Out (part of Maiden Speech Festival)

Posted by Planet Nation on 11 October 2017

I was lucky enough to be contacted by Christina Bloom, the star and creator of Inside Out and invited along to her first performance of her first play. I have to be honest, the bar for LBQ-themed performances in London has been rising steadily for the past 4-5 years (see from recent reviews of Turkey and Bullish from the past fortnight alone), however I didn't set any expectations as I reminded myself that this was Christina's debut.

Read more

Inside Out comes to London in October

Posted by Planet Nation on 28 September 2017

Inside Out is a show about discovering identity and defying stereotypes in a world that insists upon boxing, packaging, and labelling. Christina Bloom shares her experience with matters of the heart in this thought-provoking look at sexuality through the eyes of a one-woman, 'one-man' band. This show explores the cruelty of life, while celebrating small victories and progress towards acceptance.

    Read more

    Rotterdam rocks at The Arts Theatre

    Posted by Planet Nation on 23 June 2017

    2017 is the year of lesbian theatre. In London alone this year there have been over 20 plays taking place across London and Brighton alone, including Her Aching Heart, The Elephant Girls and Joan. I’ve been reviewing lesbian-themed theatre now for around 6 years in the city and whilst most of it is fringe theatre in theatres above pubs; the quality is growing and growing and Rotterdam is certainly aiming for the top spot, and is absolutely worthy of its current home in The Arts Theatre.

    Read more

    Pages